About Us

The Great Plains-Cooperative Ecosystems Studies Unit (Great Plains-CESU) is a network of 21 academic institutions, two non-government organizations and 12 federal agencies whose goals are to protect the biological, physical, social, and cultural resources of the Great Plains Region.

The Great Plains-CESU encompasses a broad geographical portion of the Great Plains. Members of the unit benefit from a collaborative partnership in research, education, and technical assistance across the states of ND, SD, NE, KS, OK, TX, NM, CO, WY and MT. The 'heart' of the Great Plains-CESU is the guiding Cooperative Agreement that establishes simple and relatively quick funding mechanisms between federal agency partners, academic institutions and NGO partners.

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln serves as Host to the Great Plains-CESU which was established in 2000.